class="post-template-default single single-post postid-198999 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"
National Wheat Foundation Announces Winners of 2016 Yield Contest | KRVN Radio

National Wheat Foundation Announces Winners of 2016 Yield Contest

The National Wheat Foundation is proud and excited to announce the winners of the 2016 National Wheat Yield Contest, where winning growers utilized innovative techniques, advanced seed varieties, and cutting-edge growing practices to produce an average of 135 bushels per acre. Sponsored by Monsanto, BASF, John Deere, Winfield, and seeing nearly 170 entrants, the 2016 National Wheat Yield Contest is the first in twenty years and encouraged farmers to innovate, exchange knowledge, and utilize available technology.

The National Wheat Yield Contest winners were split into two categories and two subcategories, of Winter Wheat (Dryland and Irrigated) and Spring Wheat (Dryland and Irrigated). The 14 national winners in these production categories had a yield average of 135 bushels per acre, far surpassing the county averages for the winning growers.

The top yield nationally for the Bin-Buster award came from Phillip Gross, a grower out of Warden, Washington, who grew winter wheat (irrigated) to a final yield of 192.85 bushels per acre, 216.15% above the county average. For a full list of the national and state winners, click here.

“The Foundation believes that the National Wheat Yield Contest will be the catalyst to driving innovation among growers, and communication with competitors and colleagues to facilitate productive discourse on successful practices and techniques,” says NWF Chairman Phil McLain. “We are thrilled that the 2016 Contest saw a robust level of participation, and we hope that the 2017 Contest will see even higher levels of enrollment from wheat growers. We are at a point, as an industry, where farmers are capitalizing on modern and innovative growing techniques to produce the surpluses that we are seeing today. The Wheat Yield Contest will allow those hugely successful growers to share those techniques to bring the whole industry to the forefront of cutting-edge technology and practices.”

The sponsorship of the Yield Contest by Monsanto, BASF, John Deere, and Winfield provided growers with the tools, products, and management techniques to produce excellent yields and encourage the transfer of knowledge from industry experts to growers. The National Wheat Foundation is proud to have partnered with these industry partners to bring back the Contest as a way to revitalize the industry.

The 2016 winners will be recognized at the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio, Texas, as guests of the National Wheat Foundation.

With the announcement of the 2016 winners, the National Wheat Foundation would also like to announce the opening of the 2017 National Wheat Yield Contest. Registration for the fall wheat sector will end May 1, 2017, and registration for the spring wheat sector will end August 1, 2017. Growers should look ahead to the coming year to enter the Contest and join their fellow growers in achieving the objectives of the National Wheat Yield Contest. Click here for more information on the 2017 Contest.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information