class="single single-post postid-183943 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12 vc_responsive"
Representative Jeff Fortenberry Receives Golden Triangle Award From Farmers Union | KRVN Radio

Representative Jeff Fortenberry Receives Golden Triangle Award From Farmers Union

Representative Jeff Fortenberry Receives Golden Triangle Award From Farmers Union
Photo courtesy of Jeff Fortenberry's website

LINCOLN (September 26, 2016) – Nebraska Farmers Union (NeFU) presented Representative Jeff Fortenberry with the Golden Triangle Award, National Farmers Union’s (NFU) highest legislative honor.  The award was presented recently as part of the annual NFU fall Fly-In that brought 275 Farmers Union members from across the country to Washington, DC to share their views and concerns with their elected officials.  Fortenberry was one of 44 House and Senate members honored this year.

Ten Nebraskans participated in the NFU Fly-In meetings with members of Congress and their staffs.  In addition to Hansen,Nebraska participants from all 7 NeFU Districts included John Maser and Mike Sarchet of Minatare, Terry Kirby of Central City, David Mohlman of Red Cloud, Amanda and Lillian Fritch of Beatrice, Jeff Downing of Elkhorn, Paul Poppe of Scribner, and Art Tanderup of Neligh.

The Golden Triangle is an annual award presented to members of Congress who have demonstrated leadership and support policies that benefit America’s family farmers, ranchers, fishermen and rural communities.

“The Golden Triangle Award represents outstanding leadership and tireless effort on the issues that are important to our industry and organization. It is our honor to recognize the efforts of these Congressional champions and friends of familyfarming and ranching,” said NFU President Roger Johnson.

The Golden Triangle, first presented in 1988, symbolizes the core principles of the Farmers Union organization: education, cooperation, and legislation. This year’s Golden Triangle honorees were selected for their leadership and contribution to several issues important to family farmers and ranchers.

Representative Fortenberry’s award was presented by NeFU President John Hansen and David Mohlman as other Nebraskateam members were headed to the airport for flights home.  “We appreciate Representative Fortenberry’s continued leadership on renewable energy, conservation, rural development, and family farm and ranch issues,” said NeFU President John Hansen.  “Representative Fortenberry understands the issues in depth, and is a respected advocate of family farm and ranch agriculture.”

© 2016 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information