class="post-template-default single single-post postid-188862 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"
Robertson Elected Chairman, Lorens Reappointed to Nebraska Wheat Board | KRVN Radio

Robertson Elected Chairman, Lorens Reappointed to Nebraska Wheat Board

Robertson Elected Chairman, Lorens Reappointed to Nebraska Wheat Board
Rick Larson, the previous chairman of NWB, congratulates Brent Robertson on being elected as the new chairman.

Brent Robertson of Elsie was recently elected chairman of the Nebraska Wheat Board (NWB). Bob Delsing of Hemingford was elected vice chair. Kent Lorens of Stratton was also recently reappointed by the governor as the NWB District 4 director.

Robertson is in his third term as the District 7 (at-large) director for NWB. He and his wife Amy raise irrigated and dryland wheat and corn in Perkins, Chase and Lincoln counties. He represents NWB on the Wheat Foods Council (WFC), has served as the WFC president, and currently represents NWB on the board of directors for US Wheat Associates.

“Brent brings many years of farming, organizational and industry experience to the Wheat Board,” said Royce Schaneman, NWB executive director. “I look forward to working with him and his leadership of this organization.”

Delsing currently farms with his son Scott in Dawes and Box Butte counties on the land homesteaded by their ancestors. Delsing is completing his first term as the District 1 director for NWB. He’s represented NWB on a reverse trade mission to Taiwan and the Philippines and currently sits on the US Wheat Associates long range planning committee.

Lorens previously completed a partial term with NWB after his predecessor resigned upon being elected to the state legislature. Lorens’ recent appointment as the District 4 director marks the start of his first full term with NWB. Lorens and his wife Marilyn grow wheat and run a cow-calf operation on his family farm. He serves as the NWB representative on the US Wheat Associates food aid committee, and he recently participated in the International Food Assistance and Food Security Conference in Des Moines, Iowa.

“Kent brings a lot of passion and unique perspectives on the wheat industry to our organization,” said Schaneman. “We’re excited to have him continue serving on the board.”

Members of the Board of Directors are appointed by the governor to serve five-year terms. The chairman and vice chairman are elected by the board and traditionally serve two years in that position.

The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the check-off of 0.4% of net value of wheat marketed in Nebraska at the point of first sale.  The board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research, promotion, and education.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information