class="post-template-default single single-post postid-303307 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.6 vc_responsive"
Sorghum Groups Announce Industry Awards | KRVN Radio

Sorghum Groups Announce Industry Awards

Sorghum Groups Announce Industry Awards

LINCOLN, NE – The Nebraska Grain Sorghum Producers Association’s annual appreciation banquet was the setting for the presentation of annual service awards and recognition of yield contest winners by the NeGSPA and the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board. The awards are presented annually to recognize an individual or organization for contributions to the development, promotion and advancement of the sorghum industry.

NeGSPA – Industry Service Award

Greg Ibach, U.S. Department of Agriculture Undersecretary for Marketing and Regulatory Programs, was honored by the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Producers Association for his support and contributions to the Association, especially during his tenure as the Director of the Nebraska Department of Agriculture, a position he held for 12 years.

“Greg was an easy selection for this year’s award,” stated Lynn Belitz, Fullerton, NeGSPA President, “As the Director of Agriculture, he was always accessible, understanding, and quick to respond when issues surfaced.” In his new position as Undersecretary, he remains mindful and responsive to the needs of farmers and ranchers across the country.

Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board – Service to Sorghum Award

The Service Award presented by the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board was given to Tyler Harris, Editor of the Nebraska Farmer Magazine. Tyler covers news and production issues of interest to growers across the Great Plains. He is certainly a familiar face to farmers in Nebraska and a valuable and respected industry partner.

“Tyler has a thirst for knowledge that drives him to ask the important questions to get the story right,” stated Mike Baker, Trenton, Nebraska Sorghum Board Chairman. “We value his support, involvement and knowledge in working with the Board to help share the sorghum story and to educate farmers and the public about the crop, its virtues and economic value to Nebraska.”

Yield Contest Winners

Annually the National Sorghum Producers highlights the success of sorghum producers from across the country in their yield contest. Winners were officially recognized at the Commodity Classic in Anaheim, CA in February. Nebraska GSPA also recognizes the winners from Nebraska at their banquet. Receiving certificates of accomplishment were the following:

Matthew Bloss Pawnee Dryland Conventional-Till 177.27 DeKalb-DKS53-67
Lynn Belitz Nance Dryland Conventional-Till 114.44 DeKalb-DKS37-07
Mark Bloss Pawnee Dryland No-Till 198.42 Pioneer 84P72
Duane Vorderstrasse Harlan Dryland No-Till 180.36 Pioneer 84G62
Mike Scholting Sarpy Dryland No-Till 176.87 Pioneer 84G62
Debra Vorderstrasse Harlan Dryland Reduced-Till 186.52 Pioneer 84P72
Duane Vorderstrasse Harlan Dryland Reduced-Till 181.82 Pioneer 84G62
Matthew Bloss Pawnee Dryland Reduced-Till 173.94 DeKalb DKS37-07
Chad Dane Clay Irrigated Conventional-Till 207.77 Pioneer 86P90
Scott Jewett Harlan Irrigated Conventional-Till 192.01 Pioneer 84G62
Mike Baker Hitchcock Irrigated Reduced-Till 202.25 Fontanelle G6192
Tom Hartman Hall Irrigated Reduced-Till 201.27 Sorghum Partners SP 68M57
Josh Cederburg Kearney Irrigated Reduced-Till 183.18 Pioneer 84G62
Ron Robison Harlan Non-Irrigated Food Grade 161.88 Pay Dirt J300
Ron Robison Harlan Irrigated Food Grade 191.43 Pay Dirt J300
© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information