class="post-template-default single single-post postid-352429 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.3 vc_responsive"
USB; ASA Set Producer Leadership for the Coming Year | KRVN Radio

USB; ASA Set Producer Leadership for the Coming Year

USB; ASA Set Producer Leadership for the Coming Year
Image: iStock/Thinkstock

Soy Checkoff Sets Strong Course for Future with New Leadership and Continued Focus

United Soybean Board (USB) farmer-leaders elected Keith Tapp, fifth generation soybean farmer from Sebree, Kentucky as chair at the annual meeting December 5, 2018. In addition, 16 directors, appointed by Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue in October, were sworn in by the USDA.

“Our soy checkoff has proven itself by developing new products and markets for U.S. soy for decades,” said Tapp. “Our job is to continue this progress through wise and strategic investments, which is more important now than ever.”

USB leadership is tasked with guiding the activity of the national soy checkoff in accordance with the strategy outlined by the entire board. USB continues to focus on three priority areas for investment: meal, oil and sustainability.

At the annual board meeting, USB also elected nine directors to serve alongside Tapp on the Executive Committee.
– Jim Carroll, Vice Chair – Arkansas
– John Dodson, Secretary – Tennessee
– Dan Farney, Treasurer – Illinois
– Gregg Fujan – Nebraska
– Tom Oswald – Iowa
– Woody Green – South Carolina
– David Iverson – South Dakota
– Meagan Kaiser – Missouri
– Mark Seib – Indiana

Three farmer-leaders were also elected to serve on the Strategic Management Committee: Rochelle Krusemark, Minnesota; Ralph Lott II, New York; Doug Winter, Illinois.


ASA Board Elects 2019 Governing Committee

A new group of leaders is set to tackle soybean policy issues in the coming year. The American Soybean Association (ASA) Board of Directors elected its governing committee this week during the annual winter board meeting in St. Louis, and new board members immediately began their terms.

Davie Stephens of Clinton, Ky., will serve as 2019 ASA president. Stephens has been an ASA national director since 2012, serving as secretary and most recently vice president. He also represented his fellow state farmers on the Kentucky Soybean Association board from 2006-14, holding positions as treasurer, secretary, vice-president and president. Stephens farms more than 5,000 acres in Kentucky and Tennessee. In addition to soybeans, he grows corn and raises chickens.

Stephens replaces John Heisdorffer, Iowa, as president, and Heisdorffer moves to the role of ASA chairman. Former chairman Ron Moore, Ill., rotates off the nine-member governing committee.

Ryan Findlay, CEO of ASA, said of the changes, “Davie will transition smoothly into this role, as he has been intrinsically involved in ASA’s heavy trade advocacy this past year, among other issues. And for those leaders stepping down from the board or resuming other posts, we cannot thank them enough for all they have done during this past year. John Heisdorffer showed true leadership as our president, speaking on behalf of the nation’s soybean farmers in a time of increased media attention and anxiety. We know Davie will provide continuity in that remarkable level of dedication and service to the soy industry.”

The ASA board also elected Bill Gordon, Minn., to serve as vice president, a position that places him in line to serve as the association’s president in 2020. Gordon is a fourth-generation farmer who grows soybeans and corn across two-thousand acres, including 250 acres of buffer strips and wetlands. He is owner of Lindquist Tax and Accounting and owner/partner of CRG Management Company, a full-service business including farm analysis and planning.

In addition, the ASA board voted to elect Bret Davis, Ohio, as secretary and Brad Kremer, Wis., as treasurer; Kevin Scott, SD, Joe Steinkamp, In., Brad Doyle, Ark., and Ronnie Russell, Mo., were elected as at-large members of the governing committee.

New members of the ASA board are Daryl Cates, Ill., David Droste, Ill., and Christopher Hill, Minn. Member terms begin immediately upon election each December meeting.

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information