class="post-template-default single single-post postid-328863 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2 vc_responsive"
USDA Designates Eight Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas | KRVN Radio

USDA Designates Eight Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates Eight Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas
Wheat fields show drought affects near Colby, Kansas, U.S., May 1, 2018. REUTERS/Michael Hirtzer

WASHINGTON— Agricultural producers in Cherokee, Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami and Wyandotte counties in Kansas, who suffered losses and damages due to a recent drought, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. The loans are made available under the authority of the Secretary of Agriculture, Sonny Perdue.

Producers in the contiguous counties of Anderson, Atchison, Coffey, Crawford, Jefferson, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage and Shawnee in Kansas, along with Bates, Cass, Clay, Jackson, Jasper, Newton and Platte counties in Missouri, and Craig, Nowata and Ottawa counties in Oklahoma, are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers in all designated primary and contiguous counties will have until April 1, 2019, to apply for emergency loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramEmergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information