Nebraska Counties Designated as Presidential Disaster Due to May Severe Storms

(LINCOLN, NE) June 24, 2014 - Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced six (6) Nebraska counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding. Those counties are Clay, Fillmore, Saline, Saunders, Seward, and York.

These counties were declared a Presidential Major Disaster on June 17, 2014, based on storms occurring on May 11 and 12, 2014. This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers. Steinkruger stated, "Producers in these six counties are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated disaster designations."

In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information