House Names Farm Bill Conferees

House Speaker John Boehner and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi have named their farm bill conferees. The lists include 21 House Ag Committee members. Boehner says he is confident the negotiating team will do an excellent job of ushering reforms through Congress and to the President's desk. House Ag Chair Frank Lucas says he is pleased to be at this poing in the farm bill process. While there are challenging issues still to overcome - Lucas says the negotiating team is solid and he is confident a consensus will be reached - with a five-year farm bill sent to President Obama. House Ag Ranking Member Collin Peterson says conferees are committed to working together and getting a farm bill done - but bringing divisive resolutions to a vote and appointing conferees outside the Ag Committee has made the job a lot harder. Peterson is hopeful if Republican Leadership can be reasonable and leave the conference committee alone to do its work - the prodct will be a five-year, comprehensive farm bill by the end of the year. Senate Ag Committee Chair Debbie Stabenow and Ranking Member Thad Cochran say they are ready and eager to begin work with the House on a farm bill. Stabenow says Senators worked across the aisle to pass bipartisan farm bills the last two-years in a row - and if that same bipartisanship endures in conference - major reforms will be made and jobs will be creatd in rural America. Cochran says the task before Congress with a farm bill is urgent. He is optimistic about working with his House conterparts to resolve significant differeces and put policies in place that work well for the ag industry, American consumers and the economy.

The following are the House farm bill conferees: Republicans Steve Southerland, Frank Lucas, Steve King,Randy Neugebauer, Mike Rogers, Michael Conaway, Glenn Thompson, Austin Scott, Rick Crawford, Martha Roby, Kristi Noem, Jeff Denham, Rodney Davis, Ed Royce, Tom Marino, Dave Camp and Sam Johnson; Democrats Marcia Fudge, Collin Peterson, Mike McIntyre, Jim Costa, Timothy Walz, Kurt Schrader, Jim McGovern, Suzan DelBene, Filemon Vela, Gloria Negrete McLeod, Eliot Engel and Sander Levin.

The following are the Senate farm bill conferees: Republicans Thad Cochran, Pat Roberts, Saxby Chambliss, John Boozman and John Hoeven; Democrats Debbie Stabenow, Patrick Leahy, Tom Harkin, Max Baucus, Sherrod Brown, Amy Klobuchar and Michael Bennet.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information