Nebraska Left Off House Ag Committee

Nebraska, Kansas and Wyoming have been left out of the House Ag Committee. Out of 46 committee members, there is no Congressional representation from the three states. Previously Nebraska's first district Congressman Jeff Fortenberry had served on the House Ag committee. In the 113th Congress, Fortenberry was selected to serve on the Appropriations Committee. A spokesperson for Fortenberry says he is vying for a position on a subcommittee with jurisdiction over agriculture.

The Appropriations Committee writes the policies authorizing all expenditures made by the U.S. Government. It has been 22 years since a Nebraskan served on the House Appropriations Committee. The position was last held by Congresswoman Virginia Smith.

Previously, Third District Congressman Adrian Smith served on the House Ag Committee until Smith was appointed to a position on the Ways and Means Committee in 2012.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information