Senate Farm Bill Conferees Named

Despite the latest action from the House that some lawmakers have said will make it difficult to finish the farm bill - Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell named conferees late Thursday. The Democrats are Senate Ag Committee Debbie Stabenow, Patrick Leahy of Vermont, Tom Harkin of Iowa, Max Baucus of Montana, Sherrod Brown of Ohio, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota and Michael Bennet of Colorado. The Republicans include Ag Ranking Member Thad Cochran, Pat Roberts of Kansas, Saxby Chambliss of Georgia, John Boozman of Arkansas and John Hoeven of North Dakota. Cochran thanked McConnell for appointing conferees ahead of the August recess. He said reconciling differences between the House and Senate will be a challenge - but continued it's a job that needs to be done for an important sector of the American and global ecnoomy. According to Cochran - there's good depth of knowledge among the Republican conferees - noting Roberts and Chambliss are former Ag Committee Chairs. The House still has not named conferees.

The Senate also confirmed President Obama's nominations of Krysta Harden to be Deputy Agriculture Secretary and Robert Bonnie to be Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Environment.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information