USDA Designates 2 Counties in Kansas as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

WASHINGTON, June 11, 2014 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Clay and Cloud counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

"Our hearts go out to those Kansas farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation's economy by sustaining the successes of America's farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We're also telling Kansas producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood."

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

Dickinson Jewell Ottawa Riley
Geary Mitchell Republic Washington

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on June 11, 2014, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information