class="post-template-default single single-post postid-309977 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"
Dulaney, Cities and County, Mabin honored during tourism luncheon | KRVN Radio

Dulaney, Cities and County, Mabin honored during tourism luncheon

Dulaney, Cities and County, Mabin honored during tourism luncheon
Vera Dulaney receiving award from Gering Convention and Visitors Bureau Director Karla Niedan-Streeks , Mooney/KNEB/RRN

Long time Scotts Bluff County Clerk Vera Dulaney was given the Gering Convention Visitor Bureau’s “Buddy” Award Wednesday for her contributions to local tourism.

Dulaney has been the patriarch of a family that has devoted much of their time to community service and received a beautiful color photo of the Scotts Bluff National Monument.

Dulaney said,” I am sure my reaction doesn’t begin to describe how I feel. I am very honored, I love this county, I love Nebraska.  It all worked out very nicely. I didn’t really expect this.”

Dulaney has served 30+ years on the Oregon Trail Days Board of Directors, chaired the Western & Wildlife Art Show for 35 years and been part of many other local community betterment activities.

She says she does it because she loves art and thinks everyone should have “original art”. Dulaney says she enjoys walking into a local home and spotting art being displayed that was sold at the OTD Art Show.

Gering Convention and Visitors Bureau Executive Director Karla Niedan-Streeks called Dulaney “NU’s Number #1 Fan, a true Friend of Gering and an ambassador of local tourism industry.

Also recognized at Wednesday’s Tourism Week luncheon with the Point of One award were the cities of Scottsbluff and Gering and Scotts Bluff County for their cooperative work during last year’s Solar eclipse. Sheriff Mark Overman, Scottsbluff and Gering Police Chiefs Kevin Spencer and George Holthus, and Scottsbluff Police Captain Tony Straub accepted the awards from Scotts Bluff Area Visitors Bureau Director Brenda Leisy.

Leisy also presented Billy Mabin with her volunteer of the year award.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information