class="post-template-default single single-post postid-265356 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1 vc_responsive"
Briar Cliff downs Dakota Wesleyan in straight sets | KRVN Radio

Briar Cliff downs Dakota Wesleyan in straight sets

Briar Cliff downs Dakota Wesleyan in straight sets
Courtesy/MGN Online

The Charger women’s volleyball team swept the Tigers (27-25, 25-15, 25-16) inside the Newman Flanagan Center Wednesday evening. Briar Cliff improved to 14-5 overall and 5-5 in the GPAC with the victory, while Dakota Wesleyan slipped to 14-12 overall and 1-7 in the league.

Briar Cliff hit a .196 in the opening set, but picked up the pace in the final two sets earning hitting percentages of .326 and .310 in sets two and three. The Chargers notched an attacking percentage of .276 overall on the night with 57 kills and 20 errors off 134 scoring attempts, compared to the Tigers hitting a .127 at the clip with 27 kills and 13 errors on 110 attacks. The Cliff owned the statistical categories of kills (57-27), assists (53-25) and digs (61-46). The Blue and Gold held the edge in service aces (3-2). Both BC and DWU accumulated 9.0 team blocks.

Courtney Schafer led the Cliff in kills with 15, trailed by Keely Woods with 14 K’s and Emily Sanburg with 12 kills. Laura Barry and Delaney Meyer split the setting duties with 25 assists and 24 helpers, respectively. Breanne Hankins and Katie Berg each had a team-high 13 digs, followed by Brooklyn Tolliver with 12 digs. Olivia Tomlin had a team leading four blocks (one solo, three assisted) and three service aces.

Rebecca Frick led DWU with nine kills, trailed by Chelsey Heeg and Sydney Fritz with five K’s apiece. Bridgett Knobbe quarterbacked the offense with 23 assists, while Sara Herman was the best defender with 11 digs. Kimberly VanBockern had a team-high five blocks (one solo, four assisted). Knobbe and Herman each had one service ace.

Briar Cliff will host Mount Mercy on Friday night. The Chargers and Mustangs will square off in the Newman Flanagan Center at 7 p.m.

© 2017 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information