class="post-template-default single single-post postid-307956 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.6 vc_responsive"
Lopers Qualify For NCAA Tournament | KRVN Radio

Lopers Qualify For NCAA Tournament

Lopers Qualify For NCAA Tournament

Kearney, Neb. – The Nebraska-Kearney women’s golf team has qualified for the NCAA Tournament for a second straight season.
The Lopers are one of 12 teams that’ll take part in the NCAA Central Regional May 7-9 (Mon.-Wed.) in St. Charles, Mo., with Missouri Bluffs serving as the host course. Overall, the national field consists of 48 teams and 24 individuals.

Last spring, UNK made its first-ever appearance at regionals and finished 11th in a tournament held in Sioux Falls, S.D.
This year, Kearney is the 12 seed and one of six teams from the MIAA to qualify. The Central also includes schools from the GAC (Great American Conf.) and NSIC (Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conf.).The field was determined by regular season play throughout the fall of 2017 and the spring of 2018. The top three teams and the top three individuals not from one of the advancing teams at regionals qualify for the NCAA Championship  May 16-19 (Wed.-Sat.) in Houston, Texas.

Senior Samantha Crawford (78.24), junior Danielle Dickerson (81.06) and sophomore Brandi Lemek (81.36)  lead the team in stroke average with UNK having four top three finishes this year.
Central Qualifying Teams

  1. Augustana, S.D. (NSIC automatic)
  2. Arkansas Tech (GAC automatic)
  3. Southwestern Oklahoma State
  4. Henderson State, Ark.
  5. Northeastern State (MIAA automatic)
  6. Central Oklahoma
  7. Lindenwood
  8. Missouri Western State
  9. Central Missouri
  10. Minnesota State
  11. Oklahoma Baptist
  12. UNK

Central Qualifying Individuals

  1. Helle Leed, Southern Arkansas
  2. Hannah Perkins, Ft. Hays State
  3. Sophie Hill, Concordia-St. Paul
  4. Lexi Hanson, Sioux Falls
  5. Frida Ryberg, Arkansas-Monticello
  6. Ashley Bixby, Southwest Minnesota State
© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information