class="single single-post postid-198780 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12 vc_responsive"
Oakland-Craig Basketball Preview | KRVN Radio

Oakland-Craig Basketball Preview

Oakland-Craig Basketball Preview

Team: Oakland-Craig

Mascot: Knights

Colors: Orange and White

Class: C-2

Conference: East Husker

Head Coach: Aaron Meyer (152-140 career record)

2015-2016 record: 9-14 (lost to GACC in Sub Districts)

Returning Starters: 4

Overview:

The Oakland-Craig Boys look to be solid once again this season as they return four starters from last year’s 9-14 team that put up a lot of points on the board.

Four starters return for Head Coach Aaron Meyer, and they are Carter Thiele (6’2 Sr guard 2 year starter), Garrett Seagren (6’2 Jr guard 2 year starter), Evan Reinert (6’2 Jr forward 1 year starter), and Zach Ahrens (6’2 Sr forward 2 year limited starter).

The 5th starter will be Kobe Benne (5’8 Jr guard transfer from GACC).

Meyer says big losses are Cody Mace and Cole Mitchell – both 2-3 year starters.

Meyer adds Benne is a newcomer who could make a big impact.
He also says the team’s offseason went OK.

“The offseason was very up and down. We played very well at the start of the summer. At the same time, we showed we still have some work to do.”

Meyer says rebounding and team unity are two things that need to get better for the Knights to be good this year.

“We need 3 things to happen. We need to gel as a team. Make sacrifices for one another and feed off each other’s success. The other thing is we need to toughen up defensively. We also need to be able to rebound the ball on both ends of the court.”

The Knights gave up over 50 points in 19 of their 23 games last season.

Season Outlook:

Oakland-Craig hopes to be a strong offensive and defensive team this year without a doubt.

Meyer says outside shooting shouldn’t be an issue.

“We have quite a bit of potential on both ends of the floor. We have as much outside shooting ability as I’ve ever had as a coach.”

Meyer says he’s excited about his team.

“Carter and Garrett should be 2 of the best combo guards in the area. It will also be fun to see how Kobe fits into the picture. We’d love to see Zach stay healthy and be able to play up to his potential his senior year.”

Meyer adds avoiding the injury bug is also important.

“This team has the potential to be very good. We have to mesh, stay healthy, and play tough D.”

Oakland-Craig is in Sub-District C2-3 with the likes of Fremont Bergan, Yutan, and Omaha Brownell Talbot.

The Knights open up the season at Logan View/Scribner-Snyder on December 1st. in a game that will be aired on 107.9 the Bull.

2016-2017 Oakland-Craig Knights Boys Basketball Schedule:

12/01/16 @ Logan View-Scribner-Snyder
12/03/16 @ Boys Town
12/06/16 Clarkson/Leigh
12/09/16 @ Pender
12/10/16 @ Howells-Dodge
12/15/16 Wisner-Pilger
12/17/16 Madison
12/20/16 @ Guardian Angels Central Catholic
12/22/16 Omaha Nation
12/29-12/30 (To Be Determined)Malcolm Holiday Tournament Malcolm
01/06/17 @ Stanton
01/07/17 @ Winnebago
01/10/17 @ Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family
01/13/17 BRLD
01/17/17 @ Tekamah-Herman
01/20/17 @ North Bend Central
01/24/17 Mead
01/28-02/04 (To Be Determined) East Husker Conference Tournament TBD
02/07/17 Archbishop Bergan
02/10/17 @ West Point-Beemer

Team: Oakland-Craig

Mascot: Knights

Colors: Orange and White

Class: C-2

Conference: East Husker

Head Coach: Joe Anderson (4th season) (43-32 record)

2015-2016 record: 19-7 (lost to Hastings St. Cecilia in first round of State)

Returning Starters: 1

Overview:

The Oakland-Craig Girls hope to be good again this year after reaching state for the first time in school history a season ago.

1 starter returns for 4th year Head Coach Joe Anderson, and that is Dacey Nelson (5’7, So 2nd )(1st team All-Conference/2nd Team All-State).

Shannon Pille (5’5, SR  2nd) (started as a sophomore), Melanie Snader (5’4, SR 2nd)  (started as a sophomore), Grace Maline  (5’6 , SR  1st ), and Emmy Bousquet  (5’5  SR  1st) will round out the starting five for the Knights.

Newcomers who Anderson feels could make an impact include Grace Pille (5’5, So. Guard), Natalia McNeill (5’6, So. Guard), and Kennedy Benne (5’6, FR Guard).

The Knights graduated Brynn Charling (all-conference 1st team), Baily Charling , Emma Reinert, and Olivia Bures  last year.

Anderson says this year’s team will look to run and play strong defense.”Defensively we played man every possession last year. Defense is something that we take pride in. Offensively we want to get up and down the floor this year. We have good team speed and hope to create some points running the floor. ”

Anderson says his squad will have to work that much harder on defense to overcome their lack of height.

“We lack size, no player taller than 5-7. We will have to box out well, and learn to play great team defense to make up for it.”

The Knights should be able to give other teams’ guards fits from an offensive and defensive standpoint.

Anderson says he’s got a few girls who can really play.

“Our guard play should be solid. Dacey is one of the best players in C-2. Shannon Pille will be a solid scorer and Melanie Snader is a very good shooter from the outside.”

Season Outlook:

The Knights figure to be a small, but very feisty, fast, and athletic team this season.

Anderson says his team will need to be efficient on both ends of the floor.

“We are going to have to be very good on the defensive end. We don’t have much height, so will rely a lot on our pressure and quickness. We will also have to become great shooters as we lack the inside presence this year.”

Anderson says he expects his players to compete and get better throughout the season.

“We have some good athletes that will be on the floor, so that should give us a good chance to be competitive each night. Our goal is to improve each week, so we are playing our best basketball at tournament time.”

Oakland-Craig is in Sub-District C2-3 with Yutan, Fremont Bergan, and Omaha Brownell Talbot.

The Knights open up the season at Logan View/Scribner-Snyder on December 1st in a game that will be aired on 107.9 the Bull.2016-2017 Oakland-Craig Knights Girls Basketball Schedule:

12/01/16 @ Logan View-Scribner-Snyder
12/03/16 @ Boys Town
12/06/16 Clarkson/Leigh
12/09/16 @ Pender
12/10/16 @ Howells-Dodge
12/15/16 Wisner-Pilger
12/17/16 Madison
12/22/16 Omaha Nation
12/29-12/30 (To Be Determined) Malcolm Holiday Tournament Malcolm Public Schools
01/06/17 @ Stanton
01/07/17 @ Winnebago
01/10/17 @ Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family
01/13/17 BRLD
01/17/17 @ Tekamah-Herman
01/20/17 @ North Bend Central
01/24/17 Mead
01/27-02/04 (To Be Determined) East Husker Conference Tournament TBD
02/07/17 Archbishop Bergan
02/10/17 @ West Point-Beemer

© 2016 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information
Share:
Comments