class="page-template-default page page-id-114375 group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2 vc_responsive"
Service To Agriculture Award Recipients | KRVN Radio

Service To Agriculture Award Recipients

2017 – Dayle Williamson

With our 31st presentation of this award, we honor a very special contributor to agricultural and rural Nebraska over a rich lifetime of service and inspiration. The Nebraska Rural Radio Association’s Service to Agriculture Award for 2017 goes to Dayle Williamson of Lincoln.

Dayle Williamson was born and raised on the family’s farm in Southeast Nebraska near Ohiowa in Fillmore County and graduated from the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. He immediately began a career in the US Army as a Second Lieutenant, serving two years, and then returned to his home state to join the Nebraska National Guard where he served with distinction during a career of some 30 years, retiring at the rank of Brigadier General.

But Dale’s expertise and successes are perhaps best known owing to his efforts in the areas of soil and water conservation, flood control and for his activities related to environmental protection and improvement. Dayle served with Nebraska’s Soil and Water Conservation Agency for 42 years, becoming that agency’s director in 1971. His first order of business was the enormous challenge of implementing the new Natural Resources legislation signed into law by Governor Norbert Tiemann and guiding the Nebraska Legislature to enact laws in 1972 combining 154 “special purpose entities” into Natural Resources Districts. On July 1, 1972, the Natural Resources Districts officially came into existence. Dayle served as Director for 30 years.

The Lincoln Journal Star at his retirement posited that Williamson’s agency had “been the conduit or overseer for hundreds of state and federal projects that have protected the state’s precious soil and water resources and have saved millions in potential flood damage.”

Soon after Dayle’s retirement from state government, he was tapped by Nebraska U.S. Senator Ben Nelson to help craft the Farm Bill. With that, Dayle started a 12 year stint as Nelson’s right hand man on ag and military issues, and mentoring young staff members.

Then, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan during which Dayle’s background and experience informed his call to serve when our warriors were sent abroad. Dayle constantly stood shoulder to shoulder with departing troops…their wives, husbands, children, mothers and fathers. As a “soldier’s soldier” with firm, kind and sound advice, a message of courage, he promised that he himself would be in front of the line at their welcome home…and he has done just that.

Dayle Williamson’s long and distinguished career exemplifies the very essence of service. It is the distinct pleasure of a grateful Nebraska Rural Radio Association to present the 2017 Service to Agriculture Award to Dayle Williamson.

(Special thanks to The Lincoln Journal Star and Nebraska Natural Resource Districts)

2016 – Howard Lamb, former Nebraska State Senator, Posthumously. Accepted by Howard’s son David Lamb

2015 -Mike Johanns, former US Senator, US Secretary of Ag, Nebraska Governor

2014 – Don Hutchens, retired Executive Director of Nebraska Corn Board

Courtesy NE Corn Board
Courtesy NE Corn Board

Nebraska Rural Radio Association

Service to Agriculture Award Recipients
1987 – 2015


2016 Howard Lamb, former Nebraska State Senator, Posthumously

2015 Mike Johanns, former US Senator, US Secretary of Ag, Nebraska Governor

2014 Don Hutchens, retired Executive Director of Nebraska Corn Board

2013 Weldon Sleight, retired Dean of Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture

2012 Keith Olsen, Grant, former President of Nebraska Farm Bureau

2011 Eric Brown, Lexington, KRVN and NRRA General Manager

2010 Jim Lundgren, Lexington, Nebraska Water Users

2009 Elaine Stuhr, Bradshaw, former State Senator

2008 Eugene Glock, Rising City NE, former NE Soybean President

2007 Dr. Allen Blezek, Director, Nebraska LEAD Program

2006 Dr. Tom Osborne, former U.S. Congressman, NE 3rd District

2005 Cap Dierks, veterinarian, rancher, former State Senator

2004 Robert C. Andersen, President, Nebraska Cooperative Council

2003 Willard Waldo and Max Waldo, Pork producers/innovators

2002 Dr Michael S Turner, UN-L AgriBusiness Professor 1964-1999Cooperative Council Educator

2001 Harry Knobbe,Farmer-Feeder-Broker-Cattlemens’ Associations.

2000 Max Brown, KRVN G.M. and Secretary/Treasurer of NRRA 1950-1979

1999 Dr Irv Omtvedt,UN-L VP/Vice Chancellor IANR.

1998 Robert L Raun, Nebraska farmer, Chairman of the Board of the Kellogg Foundation

1997 Randy Cruise AND Rod Gangwish, Past presidents of the National Corn Growers Association

1996 Bob Ruggles, President of National Pork Producers

1995 Charles (Chuck) Schroeder, CEO National Cattlemen’s Beef Association; Past Nebraska Secretary of Ag

1994 Dr Martin Massengale, UN-L/retiring President, IANRChancellor, President Emeritus

1993 Gary D Myers, President/The Fertilizer Institute

1992 Harry Cleberg, CEO/Farmland Industries

1991 Ken Hobbie, President/US Feed Grains Council

1990 Retiring Congresswoman Virginia Smith, US Congress

1989 Alan (Bud) Middaugh, US Meat Export Federation

1988 Dr Ken Bader, US Soybean Institute

1987 Clayton Yeutter, US Secretary of Agriculture