Bohl named coach of the year

FARGO, N.D. (AP) _ Outgoing North Dakota State University head football coach Craig Bohl has been honored as the national coach of the year in the NCAA's Football Championship Subdivision for the second straight season.

Bohl was presented with the Eddie Robinson Award Monday night during an awards banquet in Philadelphia. He is the first FCS coach to win the honor in consecutive seasons, and only the second coach to win it twice. Former James Madison coach Mickey Matthews won it in 1999 and again in 2008.

Bohl has led the Bison to back-to-back FCS titles, and NDSU is a favorite to win a third straight championship this year.

Bohl announced earlier this month that he was taking the head coaching job at Wyoming, though he will coach NDSU through the team's playoff run.

© 2014 Rural Radio Network. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information