class="post-template-default single single-post postid-421036 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.5 vc_responsive"
Hawkeyes Sign 10 for 2021 | KRVN Radio

Hawkeyes Sign 10 for 2021

Hawkeyes Sign 10 for 2021

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa baseball team has signed 10 players who will join the program in the fall of 2020, it was announced Thursday by head coach Rick Heller.

“This is a talented group of players and a great group of young men off the field,” said Heller. “Many of these student-athletes have been committed to our program for a long time. It’s exciting to know that we won’t have to wait much longer until they have a Hawkeye jersey on.

“Recruiting coordinator Marty Sutherland did a fantastic job in orchestrating our recruiting efforts. Marty deserves a lot of credit for this outstanding class.

“Most all of our needs are filled with this talented group, but we do have a lot of potential drafts in our junior class. With that said, we will likely need to add a couple more players as we move forward as things shake out.”

All 10 members of the class will be freshmen when they arrive on campus. The class includes: Keaton Anthony (UTIL/RHP, Hoschton, Ga.), Tyson James (RHP, Webster Groves, Mo.), Ty Langenberg (RHP, Urbandale, Iowa), Reece Lawler (RHP, Gurnee, Ill.), Antony Mangano (UTIL/Lake Zurich, Ill.), Andy Nelson (UTIL, Winfield, Ill.), Alec Nigut (OF/LHP, Des Moines, Iowa), Jackson Payne (RHP, Clive, Iowa), Michael Seegers (SS, Oconomowoc, Wis.), and Will Semb (RHP, De Pere, Wis.).

Three of the players are native Iowans, three hail from Illinois, two from Wisconsin, and one from Georgia and Missouri. The class consists of two two-way players, five pitchers, and three positional players. All 10 players are top-500-ranked players by Perfect Game.

Name Pos. Ht. Wt. B/T Hometown/High School
Keaton Anthony UTIL/RHP 6-4 175 R/R Hoschton, Ga./Mill Creek
Tyson James RHP 6-4 240 R/R Webster Groves, Mo./Webster Groves
Ty Langenberg RHP 6-2 170 R/R Urbandale, Iowa/Urbandale
Reece Lawler RHP 6-2 170 R/R Gurnee, Ill./Warren Township
Anthony Mangano UTIL 6-0 170 L/R Lake Zurich, Ill./Lake Zurich
Andy Nelson UTIL 6-0 175 R/R Winfield, Ill./Wheaton North
Alec Nigut OF/LHP 6-1 175 L/L Des Moines, Iowa/Roosevelt
Jackson Payne RHP 6-5 170 R/R Clive, Iowa/Waukee
Michael Seegers SS 5-10 160 R/R Oconomowoc, Wis./Home School
Will Semb RHP 6-1 175 R/R De Pere, Wis./De Pere

© 2019 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information